Skip to content

Revision of Quote of the Week 3-22-09

April 10, 2009

I was in the car with a friend of mine and I brought up the quote from the previous post, Quote of the Week 3-22-09,:

“The only sin that we never forgive in each other is a difference in opinion.”
~Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803-1882)

However, as I struggled to remember the quote, I misquoted Emerson. Thus, in effort to know exactly what the quote was, I checked it on my blog. In doing this, I came to terms that I misinterpreted the quote (however, there is no such thing as misinterpreting a quote. It’s completely based on opinion and you should not have to feel that I am forcing my opinion on to you). So heres my new interpretation of the quote:

If someone loses something of yours, you forgive them. If someone accidentally hits you, you forgive them. But if someone holds a different opinion than you, you must correct them for being “wrong” (I used the word “must” to emphasize the urge you get to correct someone. I am not commanding you to correct anyone).

This is a main cause of arguments and debates. This strong belief that you are right and they are wrong (adamancy) is what makes everyone different. Everyone makes mistakes (misplacing items, stumbling, forgetting), but not everyone feels things should happen just one specific way. If we did, we wouldn’t be exciting, we wouldn’t be unique, we wouldn’t be human.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

