Skip to content

Repeat, Please

September 24, 2009

I find it completely fascinating how one can be told something or can notice something over and over again and only realize it the umpteenth time. For instance: interpreting songs. You hear a song repeatedly and then you finally realize its true meaning. I had only listened to Regina Spektor’s Chemo Limo 100000+ times (understatement) when I finally realized that she uses Benjamin Franklin as a symbol of money.

It’s like a slap in the face when you realize something. I mean, you’ve been encountering these instances routinely and after numerous encounters your light bulb finally turns on; clearly it should have been turned on at least the second time you dealt with this….. encounter (I could really use a thesaurus right now).

I think it has to do with how much you are really thinking. For example, (I had English today so I feel like introducing my ideas as if they were in an essay…) repeat the word “over” 30 times in a row and suddenly the word “over” doesn’t even sound like a word. You are probably not even pronouncing it right by the fifteenth time. I feel as if that is happening because you are thinking too much about it as opposed to listening to a song 30 times and getting lost in the music, which may even cause you to think more about other things. You listen to the music and your mind is opened up to many more things, causing you to temporarily (I love that word) lose focus of the musicality and/or the meaning of the song. I guess that our minds want to think too much that it actually takes longer for it to see the things that are right in front of you. Not everything can be seen through x-Ray vision.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

