Skip to content

Premature

November 26, 2009
I am safe here,
inside the womb.
I am protected,
for I am fragile,
inexperienced,
naïve,

You tell me you love me.
You don’t want my tears.
But how can I learn?
How did you learn?

Inside the womb, I hear your stories:
Your life in paraphrases
undulating with pain and joy,
Colorful with feeling and emotion.

You wince in pain
as I desperately vie for this picturesque world
that you have painted with soul, essence, and meaning,
waiting to be born

But premature I am.
And so I am caged.

I am safe here
inside the womb.
But I am unable to live.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

