Skip to content

“I Have to Have You Now”

December 25, 2009
“Young and full of running
Tell me, where has that taken me?
Just a great figure eight
or a tiny infinity?

Love is really nothing
But a dream that keeps waking me
All of my trying, we still end up dying
How can it be?

Don’t say a word, just come on and lie here with me.
‘Cause I’m just about to set fire on everything I see.
I want you so bad, I’ll go back on the things I believe.
There I just said it: I’m scared you’ll forget about me.

Oh young and full of running
All the way to the Edge of Desire
Steady my breathing, silently screaming,
‘I have to have you now’

Wired and I’m tired.
Think I’ll sleep in my clothes on the floor
Maybe this mattress, will spin on its axis
And find me on yours.”

~Edge of Desire by John Mayer

I’m going to look at this song a little differently then how I did it for Regina Spektor’s “Blue Lips”.

When I first heard the line “Just a great figure eight/ or a tiny infinity,” I think that John is referring to running around in circles and never really going anywhere. A sideways figure eight looks like an infinity sign (I should know that 😉 ).

I love the second stanza because I can relate to it so well (actually I can relate to this entire song). John is singing about someone whom he wants in his life but for some reason cannot have. So that person is the only person about whom he dreams at night. However, the thought of him having this person interferes with the realization that he doesn’t have this person and it leaves him restless at night.

The third line of the third stanza (aka. Chorus) demonstrates the power of the effect this person has on the speaker. He would do absolutely anything to get this person even it meant changing the values in which he truly believed.

The fourth stanza (second verse) expresses the fact that the speaker is in so much internal pain, “silently screaming, ‘I have to have you now.'” Thus he ends
up sleeping in his clothes on the floor in hopes that, miraculously, his “mattress” will turn into the mattress of the person he wishes to love.

Of his newest CD Battle Studies, I so far claim this one to be my favorite (Probably because I am in the exact same situation as the speaker I analyzed above). His entire CD is phenomenal. It’s a completely different style than his previous CD, Continuum, but just as powerful.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

