Skip to content

Fairy Godparents

September 4, 2010

In “Repeat, Please,” I stated how it may take numerous times of repetition before something even starts to makes sense. I know—oh I know—that everyone has had their parents tell them a valuable lesson, but none of those people really took heed of that lesson until someone else repeated the exact same lesson the exact same way. It’s just how us teenagers and young adults are programmed. We just don’t want to listen to trustworthy sources; we want to hear from people we’ve never known (although that’s not always the case). I am that exact way with my parents, only I realized that it works really well in music. I realized this just after I came up with the idea of “Not Synonymous.” Condescending, disappointed repetitive voices tend not work in our minds. Catchy, sometimes regretful repetitive voices really do the job. Perhaps the song creates its own mnemonic device. When you try to remember something without any real form of pattern, your brain has a harder time holding on to that knowledge. However, catchy rhythms and sweet melodies go deep into your head and sometimes makes you dance, thus stimulating multiple parts of your brain. You don’t need to remember the words of the song anymore; as soon as you remember the rhythm or the melody or even the dance that you incorporated with the song, the lyrics would slowly fly right back into your head.

I always tell my parents, whenever they say those phrases like “how many times did I tell you that,” that I was waiting for someone else to clarify. That is not true! But it doesn’t make it my fault; (I use a lot of semicolons. I use them almost more than I use parentheses. Oh no!) it’s all because of the way the parents said. Whenever my younger sibling would get upset or something, I would try to sing the lesson. That would never work. Kids usually get annoyed or weird-ed out by older people singing stupid songs that have poor melodic lines, rhymes, and rhythms. What your parents just told you does not leave your mind; it’s just because it doesn’t have any moving melodies to register as “important” or “interesting” in your brain. Yet, once that song plays, the lyrics will connect with your parents’ expression and you have that “ah-ha moment.” (It’s really fun).

So (a lot of teenagers are going to hate me for saying this) parents, I ask that you do not give up in preaching to us kids. Just don’t expect us to take your word until after it has been heard on the radio (did you notice that nice rhyme scheme? Maybe I should sing this to my parents).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

