Skip to content

“It Might Kill [Him],” But It Won’t Kill Me

December 12, 2010

You don’t understand how many times I have heard “If It Kills Me” by Jason Mraz over the past 32 hours. When you are editing a music video, you want to make sure that the lyrics line up as best as they can (which is near impossible with the Sims 3), and you also want to make sure that the plot of the video matches with the storyline of the song. Aaron Amme (the guy who might get “killed” 😉 ) keeps telling himself that he is going make his way to Julie Taylor (yes, they have real names), but because he waits too long he loses her to Ryan Applewood. I tried to make it so that way Aaron appeared regretful in not acting faster. He lost the girl he loved and it pains him to watch it all happen right before his very eyes.

I can’t help but relate to this story. I’m glad to say that I didn’t necessarily miss my chance to be with the one with whom I wanted to be. Technically, there wasn’t necessarily a “chance” at all (there’s positive thinking for you). What I mean to say is that Aaron had his chances to speak out, but he missed them. I took my chances and ended up empty handed, but at least I know that I fell trying. I think that makes it easier for me to let go and to move on. If I know I did all that I thought I could do and still failed, then all I can do is move on. If “I never said a word,” I would have to deal with the notion that things might have been different if I only did my share. I think that’s how I support my impulsiveness. I have nothing to lose except the ambiguous notion that I could succeed. I only gain knowledge from my risks. Nothing ventured, nothing gained.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

