Skip to content

Forgotten Post of Year 2: #1

February 10, 2011

I was planning on looking at the previous posts and re-posting my favorite posts, but then I came across a series of unpublished drafts. So day 3 of the Birthweek marks a new tradition for the Infinite Vertices: Each day during the Birthweek, at least one unpublished draft will become published regardless of how ridiculous it may be (I might leave a few posts unpublished though).

So to start the new tradition, here is the First Forgotten Post of Year 2:

There are often times, especially nowadays, when I will hear a certain phrase in music and wonder if the artist put that there to be musical or lyrical. Like John Mayer‘s “Vultures,” he repeatedly sings the phrase “Don’t give up, give up, give up.” The way in which he sings it may sound more like “Don’t give up. Give up. Give up,” contradicting his entire point. I would say that his choice in writing there was more for music’s sake as opposed to the sake of lyrics. It gives depth to the conclusion of his song as it begins to echo part of a motivational statement.

I remember my best friend and I had an argument over which is better; music or lyrics, and we concluded (well I’ll say that we concluded) that they both work cooperatively to create art. I mean to say that only lyrics are powerful is to ignore any instrumentation-driven pieces and to say that only the music is powerful is to ignore rap. What’s that? You don’t like rap music? You think it isn’t worth your time? (I like putting words your mouth). Consider poetry. It follows similar patterns that rap does. Now you might not like poetry either, but explain to me why it is taught in every high school English class?

Before the Renaissance Era, instrumental music was frowned upon. Genuine music was said to only be found in the voice. But in the Church (don’t worry I’m not bringing in too much religion) it was argued that adding music to religious texts would help other people be more attentive and faithful to their religion. Clearly the two forces—music and lyrics—are nothing less than equal to each other.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

