Skip to content

“Hear me”

April 6, 2011

When you suffer the kind of subjugation that we have, and still do, the collapse of dignity robs us of our humanity. And the question is, how do we get it back? We have to, in effect, go to those who have damaged us and say, “Hear me. You owe me my dignity and my self-respect, and you need to, in effect, embrace my soul and tell me that I’m a whole human being. Because I am.”

Trevor Southey in “8: The Mormon Proposition

That was a quote said by Mormon, artist, and Affirmation: Gay and Lesbian Mormons member, Trevor Southey at the end of Reed Cowan‘s documentary on California’s Proposition 8 on same-sex marriage. It’s that simple. We are human. We are born equally. Why can’t we be treated as such? Sometimes I want to scream. I am lost as to how so many people can be in favor of hate and inequality. Throughout Cowan’s documentary, the homophobic Mormons flat-out made arguments that would never been allowed had the terms “homosexuals” and “gays” been switched with “African-Americans” or “Jews.” One minority after another. That’s how it’s been for the last few centuries now. You’d think we’d learn by now. Some stories in this documentary, such as Bruce Barton’s (former Brigham Young University student) left me disturbed and in tears.

Bruce Barton’s Story:

If you haven’t already, watch Reed Cowan’s documentary “8: The Mormon Proposition.” I wish I could say that this film has a happy ending, but marriage equality is still nonexistent.

I should have picked a comedy to watch before going to bed. Now I’m all heartbroken.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kristin Brænne permalink
    April 6, 2011 1:42 am

Leave a Reply

