Skip to content

GOD H8S Hatred

April 7, 2011

I was looking through my tumblr after a nice day and I came across an appalling picture on my dashboard. The way tumblr works is similar to twitter and Facebook. You make your posts and the people you follow make their posts. All of those posts are placed onto the dashboard (News Feed on Facebook) so you can easily view what the people you are following are posting. My nice day came to an abrupt halt when I came across this photo:

Disgusting is the word I use to describe this photo. They are using children to promote hatred. Here’s my comment on my tumblr page:

I was having such a great day and then I saw this picture. I am appalled, disgusted, and furious right now. What pisses me off the most is that they used the term Fag. NOH8 Campaign is about ending Proposition 8 and creating marriage equality. This photo isn’t saying that same-sex marriage is wrong, it’s saying anything not heterosexual is wrong. Telling someone that he or she cannot marry who he or she wants is wrong. Telling them that what they are is wrong by using a derogatory term such as “Fag” is pure hate. Politics are thrown out the window once that word is dropped in the argument. Make a GOD H8S [Mathew 7:12] and then everything you homophobes fight for would make sense to me.

Matthew 7:12:
Do unto others as you would have others do unto you”

Maybe we should all tape GOD Hates Westboro Baptist Church onto our faces. If you’re following that golden rule, you clearly would be honored to receive our hatred. But we are better than that. You can’t fight hate on with hate. I just wish these bigots would just understand that they aren’t voicing their own opinions anymore, they are straight on attacking. That is wrong.

Do you tell overweight people that they are the way they are because they gluttons and that is a deadly sin and god hates them? No! Being overweight can be hereditary just like height and skin tone. People who struggle with body weight not related to their genes, don’t ask for you to throw your hatred at them. LGBTQIA members do not ask for your opinions. We know how you feel. You’ve said it for thousands of years. Oddly enough after thousands of years we still exist. I guess there are too many “enablers” in this world. If and when you see your dog Jackson getting really friendly with your neighbor’s dog Scooby Doo, you should reflect on how you have been enabling your dog.

I just want to scream right now. I am furious!

I looked more into this anti-happiness/love (as I call all of this) campaign and I found this incredibly disturbing video on youtube. Before I get into the video, I was even disgusted to know that they are also attacking funerals of LGBTQI members. First we can’t marry who want to marry and now we can’t even be buried in peace?

The video essentially tells you that God does not love everyone, and that the earthquake in Haiti and the earthquake and tsunami in Japan were results of God’s hate. As a gay Haitian American, this video was as painful as taking a bullet to my eye. I can understand someone saying they do not approve of homosexuality and same-sex marriage. It’s really hard, but I can handle that. But to flat-out post a video of hate that constantly reiterates the term “Fag” is unacceptable. This video attacks not only the LGBTQIA community but also, Haiti, Japan, Islam, and Judaism. For all of those people who think homosexuality is wrong but also agree that racism and attacks on religion is wrong, you should understand that the church views them as all the same thing. If you’re not a Baptist Christian heterosexual (they prefer white people too), then the church sends its hatred towards you. Why defend only one of these groups (colored people, LGBTQIA members, non-Christians) when the only apparent thing “wrong” about them is that they aren’t Baptist Christian heterosexuals.

If the Westboro Baptist Church consisted of Baptist Christian homosexuals, heterosexuals would be the targets of the church’s hate because they are different. Recall that “First They Came…” poem by Pastor Martin Niemöller in my post “Speaking Up“:

In Germany, they first came for the communists, and I didn’t speak up, because I wasn’t a communist. Then they came for the trade unionists, and I didn’t speak up, because I wasn’t a trade unionist. Then they came for the Jews, and I didn’t speak up, because I wasn’t a Jew. By the time they came for me, there was no one left to speak up.

Don’t support hate towards one group because before you know it that hate might be targeted against something you believe in.

To end this long post (forgive me), I will post the video posted yesterday on youtube. I discovered this information from post on “The New Civil Rights Movement.” They left a warning regarding the video before they posted it. I feel you should read it as well.

Warning: This video is not for the faint of heart. It is harsh, verbally, emotionally, and if you’re so-inclined, spiritually-assaulting. While it is inconceivable anyone with a modicum of intelligence would see it as instructive or educational, those most-susceptible to the “lessons” of religion and the Bible may. If you choose to view it, don’t be fooled by its deceptions.

Sorry for the long post, but I felt really passionate about this. Remember after reading this entire post, know that I strongly feel that attacking hate with hate is wrong. I just felt that this information should be known along with my opinions. Violence is not the solution to this problem. It never is.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

