Skip to content

Short Disclaimer on SOPA and PIPA

January 20, 2012

As you know, on January 18, 2012, The Infinite Vertices and The Soyez Vous-même (along with thousands of other blogs) went on a temporary blackout in protest of SOPA and PIPA. These were laws against internet piracy. I wanted to say that on behalf of The Soyez Vous-même Blog and The Infinite Vertices, I am not 100% against these laws against piracy. SOPA and PIPA were two laws that were too broad and would have ended up attacking innocent people caught  in the grey areas of copyright infringement (covering a song, copying a picture for a blog, etc.) even when they claimed that those particular media are not their own.

What I do agree with is that piracy is wrong. That is: watching a movie for free on an illegal site and downloading music and software for free and whatnot is wrong. I typically don’t take a stance on controversial issues (except for equality-related issues of course). Piracy is something I feel passionately against, and I didn’t want people to get the wrong idea when I had the blackout on my two blogs.

One more time:

I’m against SOPA and PIPA but I’m ALSO against piracy. On my tumblr page, I stated that if SOPA and PIPA were to be revised correctly, I would reconsider my position.

P.S. I forgot to mention that I am 100% against censorship.

What do you think? (Leave a comment below and Vote in the poll on the sidebar)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2012 4:14 pm

    LG Optimus 3D Contracts
    I was wondering if you ever considered changing the structure of your site? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or 2 pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

  2. January 22, 2012 11:12 am

    I liked your idea that you are against piracy. While you are also right stating that the bills should be revised. Especially considering the cases about Wikipedia and Google when they were asked to remove the information about the web sites that were sharing media content without owner’s permissions. Noone should be told what to write about.

Trackbacks

  1. SOPA, PIPA, & Ray Bradbury: Day 20 of Project 365 « Writer's Code
  2. Short Disclaimer on SOPA and PIPA | QClick Radar

Leave a Reply

